Nanca Finals Rodeo

By samsoncree
In April 16
Oct 28th, 2016

SCN was a big supporter and host of this year’s NANCA Finals Rodeo that was held at the Panee Agriplex in Ermineskin..there were approx 200 contestants from the Alberta Region 10 that competed and were vying for a coveted seat at the INFR in Las Vegas this coming November.  How this works is the top contestants of the Points and Money for their respective categories for 2015/2016 is set to represent the Alberta Region at the 41st Annual Indian Nationals Finals Rodeo (INFR) in Las Vegas on November 8 – 12, 2016. A few members from Maskwacis such as Blake Buffalo-Wildcat – Saddle Bronc, Alexi Buffalo – Jr. Barrel Racer, Marvin Yellowbird – Sr. Team Roper Heeler, Marcel Saulteaux – Sr. Team Roper, Keenan Crane – Steer Wrestler, Treyvon Pipestem – Jr. Bull Riding have qualified and will be representing Maskwacis at the 2016 INFR in Las Vegas. Congrats to Todd Buffalo – INFR Judge and Kris Buffalo – Bull Fighter as they will be attending the INFR 2016 as well.
The advancing cowboys and cowgirls marched in the Grand Entry daily to the drums of Darren Simon and Conan Yellowbird, as they did an honour song and a dancing exhibition for the contestants to kick off each day’s events. Other Notables are the Jr. Steer Riders Trey Soosay and Markus Dixon as they are the Season Champions in their category.

These are your champions!!!

NANCA Season Champions                                                                NANCA Finals Champions
Qualifiers for the INFR 2016                                                               Qualifiers for the INFR 2016

Ricky Lee Jackson – Bareback                                                             Keenan Crane – Steer Wrestling

Blake Wildcat – Saddlebronc                                                                Jake Fox – Tie Down

Ty Thompson – Bull Riding                                                                  Destiny Stevens – Jr. Breakaway

Jan Onespot – Steer Wrestling                                                            Treyvon Pipestem – Jr. Bull Riding
Rick Fox – Tie Down Roping                                                              Colleen Crawler – Ladies Breakaway
Dustin Bearspaw – Team Roping Header                                       Sonya Dodginghorse – Ladies Barrel Racing
Bailey Bearspaw – Team Roping Heeler                                         Alexi buffalo – Jr. Barrel Racing

Paige Shade – Ladies Barrel Racing                                                Jeff fox – Sr Team Roping Header
Kiley shade – Ladies Breakaway                                                       Marvin Yellowbird – Sr.Team Roping Heeler
Marvin Bigstoney – Sr. Breakaway                                                  Lawrence Crawler – Sr. Breakaway
Darrell Taypotat – Sr. Team Roping Header                                  Garcia Bearspaw & Levi Bearspaw – Open Team Roping
Marcel Saulteaux – Sr. Team Roping Heeler
Jaycine Crawler – Jr. Barrel Racing
Cole Soop – Jr. Breakaway